top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

A Course Called America- Review

This is a dual review because my husband and I buddy read this book! I did the audio and he read it on kindle. We were able to each get a version from the library at the same time!

Fifty States, Five Thousand Fairways, and the Search for the Great American Golf Course

written by: Tom Coyne

narrated by: Jacques Roy

rating: really liked


My review: Overall I found this book very interesting. I never would have considered golf course designers and all the different dynamics that go into playing golf without this book. Still doesn't make me want to pick up clubs of my own, but I appreciate more of the history and nuance now. I also appreciated the comradery displayed throughout the book as he met and played with so many different people.


My husband's review: Fore! My wife recommended this book to me, who by the way, isn’t a fan of the gentleman’s game. I started reading & enjoyed it all the way through. Though a bit lengthy, the author travels to all 50 states & plays a round of golf, sometimes more than one round at multiple courses. His description of each course is vivid, funny & heartwarming. He also goes into detail about the history of some of the courses he plays along with his interactions with the locals. Having played some of these courses myself, while reading I took a trip down memory lane & fondly recalled my experiences. After having read this book, I now have an itch to quit my day job & go play these courses. For any golf fans out there, new & old alike, I would highly recommend this book. While I can’t say it’s a hole in one, I gave it 4.5 out of 5 stars, good enough for an eagle on my scorecard. Similar to the author, here’s to hoping my wife can give me her blessing to quit my day job & play in all 50 states & 5,000 fairways.


As you can see, this is a good read for golfers and non-golfers alike! So, if you have a person in your life who loves golf, go ahead and order this read for the next occasion you need a present for.

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page