top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

A Place for Everything- Review

Updated: Jul 19, 2021

Thank you Netgalley and Basic Books for the gifted book I read along with the audiobook from my library

The Curious History of Alphabetical Order

by: Judith Flanders

narrated by: Julia Winwood

rating: liked


I have mixed feelings about this one. I caused a little bit of a slump in my audiobook reading life, but I'm also so glad I read it. I didn't enjoy the reading experience per se because the content is a bit dry at times, but I know I will be thinking about this book for years. I love organization, I love alphabetization, and I was set up to love this book. And I did enjoy learning about how we as a society have advanced and how our organization systems have had to advance to keep up. It was fascinating to hear about the growth of libraries, education, and the written word. It was interesting to reflect on how society has shifted and how we will never know have affected our lives in such huge ways we don't realize by affecting how they are organized. If you are a huge word nerd or lover of libraries and organizations I think you will find this one interesting. My advice though: take it a chapter at a time.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page