top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

A Place to Hang the Moon- Review


by: Kate Albus

narrated by: Polly Lee rating: loved

When I saw friends raving about this one I just had to read it. And man did it pay off. I will be anxiously awaiting what Kate Albus has in store next because this is a debut and therefore unfortunately there is no backlist to dive into.

Anna, Edmund, and William are orphans who have also just lost their grandmother and therefore are left with no guardian. But her solicitor comes up with a plan for them to be evacuated with other children to the countryside (this is during WWII) with the hope of their temporary placement becoming their forever family.

Not all is smooth sailing as the siblings try to get settled in a new place. But they find solace in the local lending library and the safe place that the librarian makes there for them. This book encapsulates the magic of books and libraries. How they connect and transform us. There is also a realistic push and pull of sibling relationships. From fighting one minute to standing up for each other the next.

The whole story wraps up in a very neat bow, which I know is not entirely realistic. But I adore a neat bow at the end of a story, so I loved it.

*Yes I am using the physical book cover for this audiobook cover. The audiobook cover looks like I created it in Microsoft Word with clipart when I was 9. And it doesn't even accurately represent the children.



Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page