top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

Books That Helped Shape Me

Updated: Dec 9, 2021

There are certain books that have really impacted the way I think about myself and how I navigate the world I occupy. They have helped me in many areas of my life.


 

Helped me better myself


The enneagram has been the most helpful tool I have found to better know myself.


It has given me language and awareness of my patterns of health and stress and how all the facets of my personality can be used to build myself and others up or to bring myself and others down.


Some people use the enneagram to box people into stereotypical version of their personalities, but I see the enneagram as a tool to unlock all the versions of yourself you didn't know you had permission to be.

 

Helped me view others more kindly


This book is a must read (or listen like I did) because it will show you America's bias in regards to our criminal justice system. It helps give you real people's stories to flesh out the things you hear about. Bryan is a death row lawyer and prisoner advocate who explores what justice and reform mean. He talks about how our systems have been warped by people who are imposing their opinions with their power.

⠀⠀

In a perfect world our systems would work because we would find out the truth and would be able to see people's hearts and intentions. But we live in a fallen world where sin reigns in all people, whether they are sitting up on a bench or in a cell. Until the world is restored when Jesus returns, we all have to look to Him who has sat on both sides of justice (He himself was wrongly convicted and executed and yet He has exonerated all of us who ask from our sins) and ask Him what His will is.

 

Helped give me name what matters


Kendra is one of my favorite internet voices. She is not someone preaching perfection, but someone telling us to name what matters and live our life the way we see fit.

“...Thankfully, that’s the gift of the Lazy Genius Way. You’re allowed to care. You’re allowed to know yourself and be yourself, to be real. You don’t have to be perfect, and you don’t have to give up. You simply get to be you.”


What a gift for someone to write a book not telling us how, but helping us define our “whys” so we can develop our own “hows”. As a fellow enneagram 1, so many of the principles Kendra lays out are second nature to me, but having the words to frame the ideas for myself and present them to those in my life is a gift. She has so thoughtfully laid how to to think through life’s situations that her wisdom applies to every stage and season of life.


“You know your life and your personality far better than I do, and therefore you are the best person to know what you need...Trust yourself.”


This is the manual for living the life you want that you need. All other self help books need not apply. Kendra gives you the building blocks for naming what matters to you and making that happen in small achievable steps.

 

Helped me forge better connections


As a fan of the work Laura Tremaine does online I was excited to read this book. And my excitement was warranted. This book shows Laura going first and setting an example of how to share your stuff with others. She gives 10 great questions that will likely lead you into some self examination and into greater friendship if you share your answers with friends. I left each chapter really contemplating parts of my life and looking forward to how and when I will share these parts of me with my friends.

 

Helped me turn my house into a home


Although Myquillyn and I don’t share the same style, I think we share some of the same style rules and reading her articulate them so clearly made some things just cement in my head. Her order of decorating makes so much sense with how I want my rooms to look, but I have definitely done things out of order to my detriment in the past.

⠀⠀

This book celebrates the curation of a home vs just the styling of a home. Making a place your own means making it work for you! And magazine styling isn't real anyway.




2 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page