top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

Flat Lay Photo Tips


When I started my Bookstagram in October 2018 I had very little knowledge about how to take book photos. But I loved sharing my thoughts on books and I knew that with practice I would figure out how to be happy with my book photos. Thankfully my sister is a professional photographer (it’s her college degree) and with the tips she shared with me, paired with what I have learned through trial and error and by observing others, I have come to love taking book photos. Now, I am nowhere near a professional, but I do love how <most> of my book photos turn out. (I am an enneagram 1, so I’m my own biggest critic). My personal photo style for book reviews is the flat lay and along the way I have learned FIVE flat lay tips and tricks that I can share with you!


Use Natural Light

Good lighting is a must! Unless you have professional-level lighting, you need to take your photo with natural light. It requires less editing to try and fix stuff on the back end. Your goal should be minimal editing other than adding in the book cover for digital photos because it makes for a better end product. I take photos in my guest room next to a window. I have paid attention and now know what time of day lends itself to the best lighting.


Shoot to Size

Take the photo in the size you want on your feed. For instance, if you want a square on your feed, shoot in square mode. This will help ensure that you do not end up with a weird crop when you edit the photo. You always want your crop to be intentional. It looks weird if you just barely cut off a corner of a book or chopping of the handle of a mug at an unnatural spot.


Adjust as you go

Evaluate the photo on your camera screen, not just how it looks in real life and adjust as you go. What you see through the camera is not what you see with your naked eye. Something that looks too spaced out to the naked eye can seem too close through a leveled phone from above.


Add Dimension

If everything's the same height and on the same angle in your photo, it can come across as flat and boring. I ALWAYS elevate the focus of my photo (kindle/phone/book) by putting a thin book or coaster under it. I also have been known to elevate other elements with books, coasters, or blocks to add dimension.


Add Texture and Life

If you set up a photo and it feels like it is missing something, you most likely need to add some more texture and/or life. Some examples of items I use to add to breathe texture and life into a photo are:

  • Plants (houseplants or cuttings from outdoors)

  • Clothes/Jewelry

  • Food/Drink

  • Paper and Pens (I love crinkled paper)

  • Headphones/Earbuds

 

Helpful Flat Lay Photo Articles

I love taking flat lay photos, but it does take some practice. I find tons of inspiration from following all kinds of accounts, not just book accounts.


Here are some resources I think are helpful:




Helpful Flat Lay How To Videos

Sometimes I think it is helpful to see someone else in action to understand how to do something. I think these videos are all great.










46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page