top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

I Must Betray You- Review

Updated: Jun 8, 2022

Thank you PRH Audio for the complimentary audiobook.

by: Ruta Sepetys

narrated by: Edoardo Ballerini

rating: really liked

Oof! Ruta Sepetys knows how to knock the breath out of you with a book. Set in Romania in 1989, Cristian is 17 and feels the weight of the oppression of the communist regime that the world seems clueless to, even as other communist regimes come tumbling down across Europe. I love that this book opened my eyes to a facet of history previously unknown to me. I also love how Sepetys nails the pacing and tone in her writing to make you feel the tumult and chaotic energy as it occurs. Plus the narration by Edoardo Ballerini was so pitch perfect as he captured the emotions and the energy of the prose. This is a YA book because the main characters are teenagers but this book handles a range of emotions and situations that I think even people who aren't typical YA fans will appreciate.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page