top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

Mary Laura Philpott Books- Reviews



Mary Laura Philpott Books (narrated by the author):

Bomb Shelter rating: really liked


Thank you Simon Audio for the gifted audiobook.


I listened to this second book first and it made me immediately check out the first from the library. I feel like Mary Laura was just recording beautifully worded voice memos to me to tell me about her life. Even though we aren't in the same life stage, I found her so relatable and found myself thinking, "well of course," many times as I experienced this book. And experience is the right term here. As she takes your hand in the first essay, she then gently guides you through the gut wrenching gullys, the magical mundane plains, and joyous mountain tops of her emotional journey. Stop what you are doing and just go read this book.



rating: loved


As much as I enjoyed Bomb Shelter, this book spoke to me in ways that it could not. Her musings on being a perfectionist type A person were like mirrors into my soul. Or the thoughts of marrying someone much more even keeled and calm than you. Or the ideas about wanting someone else to just make the decisions for you. I teared up several times and was chuckling during others. This book was an absolute gem.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page