top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

Mystery of the Tolling Bell-Thoughts


by: Carolyn Keene

rating: really liked


If you want to join in a Nancy Drew Book-club, I run the #NancyDrewBookCrew over on my Instagram where we are reading all the books in order. You can come participate in the discussion there!


I remember this book list from my childhood and I have to say that it mostly lived up to my expectations!


We are discussing the 1973 revised version. The discussion questions I wrote for this book and my answers to them:


1. The amount of time where people are in trouble without a way to communicate with others stuck out to me more in this book. Was the lack of technology and connectedness more apparent to you too? There were several times when I was just like, they need a cell phone. So much of the craziness would have been abated with technology.


2. Ned seems to try to talk some rationality into Nancy several times. What do you think of his role in this book? I love how supportive Ned is of Nancy but I wish we could see her be more supportive of him. I seem one sided in the books although they allude to her supporting him outside the text.


3. AH says at one point "If I should hear a bell ringing, there's no telling what I'd do." Is there anything that would have you abandoning common sense like that? What did you think of AH overall? I think to save friends and family I might act irrationally. But not for a bell. AH was a much more complicated character than most good guys in Nancy books because you really think he is a bad guy at various points.


4. Other than the glaring disrespect to little people, and the bad guys all being "foreign looking" any thing else stick out to you as needing a revision? I would say just how Nancy ignores sound advice and help from others. She does that more in this book than other books.


5. How many eye rolls do you give this book? 2. 1 for the awful representation of little people and 1 for the whole concept of "foreign looking" people being the bad guys.

Recent Posts

See All

留言


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page