top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

Northwind- Review

Updated: Jun 8, 2022

Thank you Mac Kids Books for the gifted book that I read along with the library audio.

by: Gary Paulsen

narrated by: JD Jackson

rating: liked


I really wanted to love this book. But I think it's just too literary for my taste. It is a middle grade survival story written in a very poetic way. Leif is an orphan, fleeing his disease stricken home where he never felt safe anyway. He takes off on a wooden canoe into a new life. He experiences nature in all her wonder. Birds, bears, and whales are all a part of his tale, and it is beautiful. It reminds me a bit of Island of the Blue Dolphins or Alone by Megan E. Freeman which I read last year. However, unlike those two titles, I didn't feel as attached to Leif as a character. Overall I still think it's a stunning book, but just not in my wheelhouse.



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page