top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

Once Upon a Camel- Review

Thank you Simon Audio for the gifted audiobook.

by: Kathi Appelt

narrated by: Jackie Sanders

rating: liked


A tale about how our stories shape us. Zada is an old camel telling stories to some American Kestrel babies as they are all separated from the parent kestrels in a dust storm. Zada has walked many miles in her life, experiencing sorrow and elation in equal measure. Overall the book was very sweet and will appeal to readers on the lower end of the middle grade spectrum. I did this book on audio and maybe it's the incessant "cheep cheep" of the kestrel babies, but I find it hard to continue wanting to listen to it at times. But I'm also not a fan of those middle grade books geared to the youngest readers. I think it's a great story and will expose kids to a great portion of history that isn't often talked about, but it just wasn't for me.

Recent Posts

See All

留言


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page