top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

Outlander Books 7-9- Review




rating: really liked


Whew. Diana Gabaldon knows how to hook you at the end of a book to where you immediately want to read the next one. I lost count of all the loose threads at the end of this book. There is so much I am left wanting to know. This book felt like a bit more of a slog through the middle but when I got to the end and all that built up came to a head, it was worth it. I was annoyed at several character's choices as I didn't feel they made sense to the character's personality as much as they were plot devices, but I am going to trust that Diana has a plan and it will all play out. Not my favorite of the series but I have high hopes for book 8 after all the set up of this one.


rating: loved


This is perhaps my favorite Outlander book I have read. I feel that overall it was more balanced between points of view and I got more of my favorite characters and less of my least favorites so that's always a win. In parts it did feel sluggish as we waited for battles in the Revolution, but overall I was invested. And of course she had me clamoring to get the next one from the library as soon as I was done! I love how much, especially at the end of this book we got back to more of the core characters and deal less with the auxiliary people.


rating: loved


Okay, I know I said that book 8 was perhaps my favorite, but this book trumped it. Where other books in the series have dragged out fight scenes or travel sagas, this one treated those types of scenes with quick and relevant snippets and moved on. I missed having more Fergus and Ian in this one, but I love when everyone is mostly on the Ridge living life and figuring out how to proceed forward. This book also felt very much like a plot device setting us up for hopefully some major action and adventure in book 10, which of course now we have to wait forever for.


If you haven't read Outlander before and are interested in diving in please do not do so without making yourself aware of the content and trigger warnings. I would be happy to talk to you if you are interested. This is not a book series to go blindly into and is certainly not for everyone.

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page