top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

Rookie Mistakes

Thank you @Netgalley and @ThomasNelson for the gifted book!

A Grown-up’s Field Guide to Getting Your Act Together

by: Kelly Bandas

rating: loved


"Equally un-new is our desire to share our own stories and make our experiences known and heard by the people around us. One might argue that's the entire reason social media and books like this one even exist--because there's really no more powerful tool than sharing our stories with each other to help us feel connected with one another."


Going into this book, I knew that Kelly is funny on Instagram, but you never know how well that will translate to a book. I'm here to tell you that Kelly is hilarious in book form too. I flew through this delight of a book. It was chock full of funny stories paired with poignant observations, plus the best placed interjections in the form of informative or hilarious footnotes. Plus she writes in such a vivid manner that I feel like I'm watching the VHS tapes of her throughout the years. You are plopped into the story and get to experience her emotions along with her. You will laugh, maybe cry, and most definitely be entertained by this read.

One time on my personal Instagram I tagged Kelly in a post saying that I thought we could be real life friends and then she followed me, so I can say as Kelly's personal friend, I'm so proud of her and can't wait for you all to get your hands on this gem of a memoir.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page