top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

Starfish- Review


by: Lisa Fipps

narrated by: Jenna Lamia

rating: loved

"I realize I've been starfishing—starting to claim my right to take up space in this place."

Ellie is a kid who is tired of being bullied about her weight. Her classmates, her mom, and her siblings all contribute to the narrative that she is not good enough because her body doesn't fit into their standards. She only feels the freedom to shed the Fat Girl rules she lives by when she is in the water, Starfishing and taking as much room as she wants to. This novel in verse will break your heart reading the bullying Ellie faces and cause you to cheer as she finds allies in accepting herself in her dad, her therapist, and her new neighbor and friend. Highlighting the best and worst in humanity, this book will make you feel all the feelings. I did this one on audio and hearing the lovely verse out loud only added to this immersive book. The whole time I just wanted to give Ellie a hug and tell her I would be her friend!


Content Warning: Body Shaming, Bullying

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page