top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

The Clue in the Old Album-Thoughts


by: Carolyn Keene

rating: liked


If you want to join in a Nancy Drew Book-club, I run the #NancyDrewBookCrew over on my Instagram where we are reading all the books in order. You can come participate in the discussion there!


The discussion questions I wrote for this book and my answers to them:

  1. How did you feel about the book overall? I think this ranks with my least favorite Nancy books. So much is happening. There is a lot of racism towards "gypsies" and enough elements that were not typical of a Nancy book that it felt off kilter a bit.

  2. Do you feel that any of our recurring characters acted unlike themselves in this book? I think Mr. Drew was very judgy about Rose and her misbehaving when he is usually so kind hearted. And Bess seemed more whiney and less game for solving the mystery.

  3. What were your thoughts and reactions about the "child bride" scene? First ew. Second wow. The fact that the circus was charging people to see this "ceremony" and that Nancy did nothing to check out the fishy situation was a bit suspect.

  4. What do you think about the unexplained elements in this book? We normally aren't left wanting more information from a Nancy book. ( I counted 3: the mysterious illness that killed Rose's mom, the substance(?) in the doll, and the contents of the envelope stolen and returned to Mrs. Struthers) In any mystery book besides Nancy i would expect a level of intrigue to surround the ending. But here it felt out of place to me. I wanted answers!

  5. What do you think was in the envelope stolen from and returned to Mrs. Struthers? I think it's proof some of her doll purchases are a bit shady. But why she carries it in her purse, I do not know.

  6. How many eyerolls would you give this book? I lost track. Mostly based on the highly racist depiction of 'gypsies' and the language used to describe them.


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page