top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

The Clue of the Black Keys-Thoughts


by: Carolyn Keene

rating: loved


If you want to join in a Nancy Drew Book-club, I run the #NancyDrewBookCrew over on my Instagram where we are reading all the books in order. You can come participate in the discussion there!


We are discussing the 1968 revised version. The discussion questions I wrote for this book and my answers to them:

  1. How did you feel about the book overall? I really enjoyed this one! It is definitely up there for me as one of my favorite books of this reread. I loved the treasure hunt aspect and that Nancy seems to have to work a bit more to solve the mystery. I also liked that everything went together more seamlessly than some other books.

  2. Priscilla Baker-Carr was the ghost writer for this book (28) and The Clue of the Leaning Chimney (26) and The Ghost of Blackwood Hall (25). How does her writing style compare for you between these three books? I was prepared to dislike this book because I thought both of those books weren't great. But the mystery in this one was one of the most fleshed out in the series so far and other than George's dumb "Hypers!" catchphrase, I really enjoyed this one.

  3. Who was your favorite non-Nancy character in this one? Hannah! I love that she is standing up more for herself and is taking ownership of protecting herself from the fall-out of Carson and Nancy's sleuthing/meddling.

  4. How do you feel about Nancy being in love triangles? I am here for it! I love the thought that it's making Nancy and Ned appreciate each other more. I never want Nancy to end up with the flash in the pan handsome flirt, but I enjoy that interaction while he's on the page.

  5. How many eyerolls would you give this book? 1! 0.5 for the "Hypers!" catchphrase that is beyond dumb, and 0.5 for the ending wrapping up too quickly. Which is typical for a Nancy book but this one felt more rushed than normal.


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page