top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

The Clue of the Leaning Chimney-Thoughts

Updated: Apr 4, 2022


by: Carolyn Keene

rating: really liked


If you want to join in a Nancy Drew Book-club, I run the #NancyDrewBookCrew over on my Instagram where we are reading all the books in order. You can come participate in the discussion there!


We are discussing the 1967 revised version. The discussion questions I wrote for this book and my answers to them:

  1. How did you feel about the book overall? I liked this book overall but there were parts that were weirder than a normal Nancy book for me.

  2. This book is written/revised by Priscilla Baker-Carr who wrote 25 The Ghost of Blackwood Hall which we just read and also did 28 The Clue of the Black Keys which we will read in May. These are the only 3 Nancy books she wrote/revised. Does her writing of Nancy and these characters fit with the other books in the series? Why or why not? I think that Nancy makes some odd decisions in this book and it does have a different voice than the others I have read other than Blackwood Hall.

  3. What did you think of the "Lavender Sisters" and their role in the human trafficking in this book? This storyline was much weirder and more confusing than it needed to be. If they edited out half the nonsense it would make more sense.

  4. I thought this was the best post mystery gift Nancy has gotten so far because it's so personal and fits the mystery so well. What did you think? My opinion is in the question:)

  5. What did you think of Nancy and Ned's relationship in this book? I liked that they were flirtier than normal, but Nancy seems to have less respect for Ned than she does in other books and he seems less confident.

  6. How many eyerolls would you give this book? I would give 2 alone to the portrayal of Chinese people and culture (although it isn't as flagrantly bad as some other Nancy books). And 1 to George's weird catchphrase and the bizarre presents Helen was gifted for her birthday.


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page