top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

The Fire and the Ore- Review

Thanks to Amazon First Reads for the free book. Prime members can choose one FREE Kindle book each month. This was my pick for September 2022.

by: Olivia Hawker

rating: really liked


3 wives, 1 husband, the American West, and the threat to the safety and security they have built for themselves.


Tamar and her family are new to the Mormon faith and have made the journey from England to Utah where she finds herself destined to marry Thomas Ricks. To her shock, Thomas is already married to the local healer Tabitha, and engaged to the poor orphan girl Jane. As the US Army closes in to threaten the Mormon community and all they hold dear, these 3 women must rally together despite their differences to preserve the life and dreams that they cherish.


Since I have read this book, I have referenced it so many times in conversations because of what I learned about this time period and this group of people. This is the kind of historical fiction we need! I love WWII historical fiction, but there is just something special about learning about new events, people, places and times through stories like these that makes me appreciate niche historical fiction so much. This book would be a GREAT book club selection because there is much to discuss. I was fortunate to buddy read it with @FortWords and hearing her thoughts made me consider some plot points in new ways and made the book even more multi-faceted for me.


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page