top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

The Last Dance of the Debutante- Review

Updated: Jun 8, 2022

Thank you Simon Audio for the gifted audiobook.

by: Julia Kelly

narrated by: Marisa Calin rating: loved


The word that kept coming to mind as I read this one was frothy. But that isn't fully correct because frothy implies that it doesn't have substance. Maybe a more accurate descriptor is effervescent. It's lively and fresh, but it also deals with big issues like identity, family, and evaluating traditions. I think even people who don't generally like historical fiction will find this very readable as the main character of Lily is nuanced and relatable even to us as women in 2022. Set in 1958 during the last year debutantes were presented to the queen at court, this book follows Lily as she dives headfirst into the world she has only been on the fringes of her whole life. I have very little in common with Lily, but through the writing and narration of this story, I felt I was Lily going to teas, luncheons, and balls. Figuring out who to confide in and who to only engage in courteous small talk with. Trying to determine how I want to shape my future. The writing is done well so you go along on Lily's journey through the debutante season and view each of the characters with her as she learns who she wants to surround herself with.

I devoured this audio in one day and was enthralled at every second.

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page