top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

The Only Plane in the Sky-Review

Thank you Simon Audio for the complimentary audiobook.

by: Garrett M Graff

narrated by a 45 person cast

rating: favorite


I believe with all of my heart that human stories are the real catalyst for change in our world. We connect to experiences, not statistics or theories. A stranger becomes less strange when we can see them for their humanity. Events become less about historical record when we have context to imagine ourselves in the shoes of those that lived them.


That's in part why I think this book is so incredibly spectacular. This book is a new favorite and a book I consider a must read. Not because it's easy or always enjoyable, but because it's important. These are the stories of real people from that day. People in the towers, people on the flights, people in the Pentagon, people on the ground, and of those affected directly and indirectly by these attacks.


I have wanted to read this book for a while but saved it until now in honor of the 20th anniversary. But it took much longer than I anticipated to read because it is so powerful. I had to take breaks and listen to lighter subject matter to pull myself through. I caught myself holding my breath or with my hand over my heart many times as I listened and prayed for those who had to experience these events first hand, and for those whose lives were lost.


If you have not yet, I hope you consider reading this book. The audio experience was truly incredible with a 45 person cast as well as archival audio from United States Presidential addresses, In-Flight Communications, and Air Traffic Control.


There are so many stories still to be told from this day. I hope you are sharing your story with friends and family today as we all remember how life changed for us all.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page