top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

The River- Review

Updated: Sep 2, 2022

Thank you for the gifted book Netgalley and Lake Union Publishing.

by: Helen Bryan

rating: really liked

A sweeping tale through the generations of one family, this book spans from 1882 to present day and with each generation you get to know the women and how they handled the struggles and successes that life provided them. I normally shy away from slower paced reads, but this one had me invested in every birth, marriage, and death. I stayed up several nights past my bedtime reading under the covers to hide the light of my Kindle from my husband. I began rooting for the Marshall family and could not see what would happen to them next.

This was the third book in a series, but without knowing that outside of the book, I would have never known. I did not miss anything by not having read the first two books. However, I looked into it and the previous two books go back even further in generations of this family's history, and sound great.


This book is closed door for romance

Content heads-up: Rape, Murder, Racism/Racist Language, Loss of a child, Miscarriage, Back Room Abortion, Mental Illness

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page