top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

The Sanatorium- Review

Thank you PRH Audio for the complimentary audiobook.

by: Sarah Pearse

narrated by: Elizabeth Knowelden

rating: meh


I should have DNFed this book. Several people I trust told me that it wasn't great, and still I kept reading. Red flag after red flag popped up and still I wouldn't give up. So here are the reasons you should actually listen to me and not read this book.

  1. The characters are extremely unlikable. Even the characters that are supposed to be likable will make you question them. I get in a closed room mystery you can't trust anyone, but this takes it to a new level.

  2. It is unbelievable. And not in "a this book is transportive" kind of way. No. The main character is a detective but

    1. She gets clues more obvious than those in a Nancy Drew novel and still she misses the glaring realities in front of her

    2. She is entirely too trusting and wishy washy for someone who investigates for a living

    3. She has too many unresolved personal and mental issues for her to have had a successful career in law enforcement. Those would have come to the surface before now.

  3. The secondary mystery is cliche, and resolves entirely too quickly and cleanly and then is dropped like it didn't matter.

  4. It is long. There were too many extraneous things happening and I was like when will this end?!

  5. The conclusion is way too cleanly resolved and doesn't fully even make sense.

  6. The epilogue is stupid. Like I messaged multiple people, went down an internet rabbit hole trying to understand it stupid.

If you have read this book please comment and tell me your thoughts on the epilogue because I still don't know what happened.


Content Warning: Murder, Death, Medical Trauma, Rape

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page