top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

To Tell You the Truth-Review

Thank you to Netgalley and Harper Kids for the gifted book.

by: Beth Vrabel

rating: loved


Leaching from the pages of this book is southern charm. The phrasing and the pace of the story were just so enjoyable. Delights like this were in abundance "Oh, I screamed! I barreled up those stairs so quick I nearly left the Holy Spirit behind." I was reading this in bed and laughed so hard at that line that I woke my husband up. 

But the book is best summed up by this quote: "...But you were wrong...Because right now? I'm happy, but I'm sad too. Both can be true." This book is about a family, and mostly Trixy dealing with the tragic death of her grandmother. And she is learning how to hold both happiness and sadness in her heart at the same time. But the only way she thinks she can do that is by determining if her grandmother's stories are true. So she sneaks away to go on an adventure to the places that have loomed large in her imagination as her grandmother has told her story after story about her tumultuous childhood.


This is a fast paced middle grade book that deals with heavy topics with humor and a tender hand. It is quirky but believable, and so endearing.


Content Warning: Car Accident, Grief, Eating Disorder


Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page