top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

What the Wind Knows-Review


by: Amy Harmon

rating: really liked


I read this with @fortwords months after we bought it when we took a trip to visited Fabled Bookshop.


I have seen this compared to Outlander, and it does have similarities such as the time travel and the love story. But What the Wind Knows is MUCH less steamy. In fact the love scenes are so symbolically written and short that they feel closed door. This book is also more linear than Outlander.


In reading I really learned more about the fight for Ireland's independence. And I had a hard time orienting myself in this book because I am not familiar with 1920s Ireland. Amy gives lots of context for you to understand, but I still felt a bit adrift. I also think my reading of Outlander affected how I read this book because I kept expecting the time period to be much further back.


While Anne is a great main character, I adored many of the side characters and wanted more of their stories too. I think this book is overall lacking in some character development that I desired. I actually think this book could have been stretched out into a trilogy and been better for what I wanted it to be.


Overall I enjoyed the reading experience, but it fell short of being a book I loved because I never felt fully immersed in the world.


Content warning: Murder, Violence



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page