top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

The English Assassin- Review

Updated: Jun 8, 2022


by: Daniel Silva

rating: liked


This was @what_amy_reads' pick for our postal book club, and I really expected to like it. I like Dan Brown books and this book felt like it was in that wheelhouse. But it just did not suck me in like those books do for 2 reasons I think. 1. The characters felt detached. As a reader you are not in their heads as much as you are observing their actions. Or if you do get their thoughts they are highly calculated to give you certain information. There was no one I really wanted to root for. 2. I did not feel at any time like I was solving the mystery along with the characters. There is no breadcrumb of clues the author leaves for you to pick up. You are just reading along and bam, this happens, and bam, this happens. I can't even say there are big twists because never was I really expecting anything, I was just turning pages. I wasn't invested. I did like that this book is WWII adjacent without covering the subject matter we read of in so many other WWII titles.




Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page