top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

Audiobook Photo Tutorial

Updated: Jan 14, 2022

Even when I was a baby Bookstagrammer learning to take book photos, my initial annoyance was that my audiobook photos were always subpar at best. Taking a picture of a phone never yielded balanced photos because the lighting would never play nice with a lit screen. That's when I started to figure out how to take my flat lays with a blank or stand-in phone and put in the cover in the editing process.


I have come a long way since that first manipulated photo, and I have continually refined my methods along the way. And you get the benefit of all of that learning. Here is my FREE tutorial that boils down to 3 easy steps (and one of those is taking the original photo!). The tutorial includes screenshots of every button to click and item to manipulate. Plus I have included three optional bonus steps to help you take it just a little further.


EDIT: I didn't think I could do it but I made this original audiobook tutorial (below) even easier! I have streamlined it way down for you! This is what I now recommend and do for my own photos: Extra Easy Audiobook Photo Tutorial


Don't be overwhelmed by all the pages!


Each of the 3 steps and the bonuses are broken down into very small steps with screenshots.


It might seem overwhelming, but try it once and you will probably find it easier than you imagine! Then you can add the bonuses.



Step 1: Get Your Base Photo

Take Your Photo

Either use a real extra phone, a phone case, OR cut out some paper or cardboard the size of an iPhone (this is so your photos will be scaled correctly)

Make sure your photo is a level flat lay. I also recommend taking your photo in square mode if the end result will be a square photo.

  • My Flat Lay Tips

  • Taking a Level Photo (iOS)(Android)

  • Taking a Square Photo (iOS)

    • I cannot find a simple android solution, please contact me if you are an android user with a solution

Edit Your Photo

Edit your photo however you normally do and save the edited version to your phone .



I use Adobe Lightroom to edit my photos.

Step 2: Get Your Audiobook Image

Get your Book Cover

Two Options:

Go to your audiobook player and grab a screenshot. Don't crop it. (this is was my previous)

Find the full cover online and save to your phone


Get Your Blank Phone File

*You only have to do this step once

Google: blank<your phone type> png

*Make sure when you save the file to your phone you can click it and it changes backgrounds from black to white.


You can also find blank phone files I have collected here: iPhone Android


Create the Mock Phone in PicsArt

Open the PicsArt App (iOS)(Android)

*The free version of this app works perfectly for these purposes

Hit the purple plus at the bottom

Select the blank phone file

Click Add Photo

Select two photos: the screenshot and the blank phone file. Then click "Add (2)"

Resize the screenshot to fit the big phone on the screen

Click on the small phone photo

You will probably have to hit the layer button at the top of the screen and "Move Up" before you resize

Resize the phone to fit on top of the phone in the background.

*It may take a few tweaks to get both of your layered photos the correct size. It get easier to size them with time!


When you are satisfied with your end product, hit "Apply"

Then you can hit the download button at the top of the screen to save this to your camera roll.


Step 3: Combine the Images

Open PicsArt and your Base Photo

Open the PicsArt App (iOS)(Android)

*The free version of this app works perfectly for these purposes

Hit the purple plus at the bottom

Select your edited base photo

Add the Mock Phone

Scroll across the bottom to "Add Photo"


Select your mock phone

Hit "Add (1)" in the top right.


Resize Mock Phone to Fit

Resize and rotate the sticker to be as close to the same size as prop iPhone while still covering it all.

Click "Apply" when you are happy with the sticker.

Save the Final Product

When you are happy with everything

Next

Save

Download Photo


Bonus Steps

Bonus Step 1

The reason I edit my base photo before adding the mock phone is that I find doing it after distorts the colors too much. But, you probably want to edit the mock phone to be harmonious with your base photo.

When the mock phone is selected, scroll across the bottom and select adjust

You are given the options to edit Brightness, Contrast, Clarity, Saturation, Hue, Shadows, Highlights , and Temp (not shown)

I always increase the contrast. It looks more real for the phone to be a bit darker. Ignore how the contrast changes the cover if you are going to do bonus number three.


Bonus Step 2

I like to add a slight shadow to the mock phone to add a little depth to the photo.

When the mock photo is selected, scroll across the bottom and select shadow

Change the shadow position.

Make sure you pay attention to where it would naturally be.

I always change the position. I also sometimes click on adjust and change the blur and opacity if it doesn't need to be as harsh. Subtle depth is what we are going for here.


Bonus Step 3

Because I don't like the way most of the audiobook players make the cover fuzzy when I screenshot it, I go and save a separate photo of the solo audiobook cover. I find Chirp the easiest place to find them reliably that are not blurry.

After you have the mock phone in the base photo add another photo of the audiobook cover. You can also make the cover a bit bigger this way.


The Finished Product




67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page