top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

Extra Easy Audiobook Photo Tutorial

Updated: Jan 14, 2022

Even when I was a baby Bookstagrammer learning to take book photos, my initial annoyance was that my audiobook photos were always subpar at best. Taking a picture of a phone never yielded balanced photos because the lighting would never play nice with a lit screen. That's when I started to figure out how to take my flat lays with a blank or stand-in phone and put in the cover in the editing process.


I have come a long way since that first manipulated photo, and I have continually refined my methods along the way. And you get the benefit of all of that learning. Here is my FREE tutorial that boils down to 3 easy steps (and one of those is taking the original photo!). The tutorial includes screenshots of every button to click and item to manipulate. Plus I have included three optional bonus steps to help you take it just a little further.


I didn't think I could do it but I made my original audiobook tutorial even easier! I have streamlined it way down for you! This is what I now recommend and do for my own photos!

Don't be overwhelmed by all the pages!


Each of the 3 steps and the bonuses are broken down into very small steps with screenshots.


It might seem overwhelming, but try it once and you will probably find it easier than you imagine! Then you can add the bonuses.


Step 1: Get Your Base Photo

Take Your Photo

Either use a real extra phone, a phone case, OR cut out some paper or cardboard the size of an iPhone (this is so your photos will be scaled correctly)

Make sure your photo is a level flat lay. I also recommend taking your photo in square mode if the end result will be a square photo.

  • My Flat Lay Tips

  • Taking a Level Photo (iOS)(Android)

  • Taking a Square Photo (iOS)

    • I cannot find a simple android solution, please contact me if you are an android user with a solution

Edit Your Photo

Edit your photo however you normally do and save the edited version to your phone .



I use Adobe Lightroom to edit my photos.

Step 2: Get Your Audiobook Cover

Chirp is my go to to find and save audiobook covers from. They are almost always the best resolution I can find online.

*you can also use a Google image search for this, but make sure you get the square audiobook cover


Step 3: Combine the Images

Open PicsArt and your Base Photo

Open the PicsArt App (iOS)(Android)

*The free version of this app works perfectly for these purposes

Hit the purple plus at the bottom

Select your edited base photo

Add a Phone Sticker

Select "Add Sticker" from the Bottom

Search "emileereadsbooks" to find the stickers I have created. There are a couple options.

If the search doesn't work you can find the stickers here and save them:


Resize Phone Sticker

Resize and rotate the sticker to be as close to the same size as prop iPhone while still covering it all.

Add the Audiobook Cover

Scroll across the bottom to "Add Photo"

Select your audiobook cover

Hit "Add (1)" in the top right.

Resize the Audiobook Cover

Rotate and Resize the audiobook cover to fit into the phone and to be on the correct angle

Click "Apply" when you are happy with the sticker.

Save the Final Product

When you are happy with everything

Next

Save

Download Photo


Bonus Steps

Bonus Step 1

The reason I edit my base photo before adding the mock phone is that I find doing it after distorts the colors too much. But, you might want to edit the audiobook cover to be harmonious with your base photo.

When the audiobook cover is selected, scroll across the bottom and select adjust

You are given the options to edit Brightness, Contrast, Clarity, Saturation, Hue, Shadows, Highlights , and Temp (not shown)

I mostly use these tools to edit my audiobook cover to match my base photo. I don't edit the cover as heavily as I would my base photo which I why I do them separately.


You can also totally add the phone to the base photo before you edit it OR edit the audiobook cover in the app of your choice.


Bonus Step 2

I like to add a slight shadow to the mock phone to add a little depth to the photo.

When the phone sticker is selected, scroll across the bottom and select shadow

Change the shadow position.

Make sure you pay attention to where it would naturally be.

I always change the position. I also sometimes click on adjust and change the blur and opacity if it doesn't need to be as harsh. Subtle depth is what we are going for here.


The Finished Product





140 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page