top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

FTC Guidelines for Social Media Posts



If you receive free books from a publisher or author, you are legally obligated to disclose that you got those books. And the FTC (Federal Trade Commission) requires that you do that in a certain way.

To quote the Disclosures 101 Guide they have:

"As an influencer, it’s your responsibility to make these disclosures, to be familiar with the Endorsement Guides, and to comply with laws against deceptive ads. Don’t rely on others to do it for you."

The FTC has a guide to help you figure out how to disclose your gifted products.

They also have a FAQ about their Endorsement Guides

I didn't know this when I started sharing books I got from publishers and authors, and I had friends who pointed me in the right direction. Stay on the correct side of the law and disclose your gifted books correctly.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page