top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmilee Meeks

Flat Lay Props- Books

Updated: Dec 9, 2021



One of my most used props for my Bookstagram flat lays is other books!


When I have given flat lay tips in the past I have gotten feedback along the lines of "but I don't have any flat lay props!". So I am starting a series highlighting props I use that are things you probably have around your house or are easy to acquire for free or very little money.


Books are something I guarantee you have around your house and can be used to add so much to photo!


When creating a styled flat lay with a book as a prop you should consider if you want to use the book for many different reasons:


Add white and leading lines

The interior pages with text can add more white to your photo and maybe some movement via the text. The text can also create a leading line to point to the featured book.


Add color and pattern

The end pages add a fun pop of color and/or pattern (gift books or antique books generally have beautiful end pages for this).


Create a boundary/fill up empty space

I regularly use books to a boundary to a photo aka create an edge. This helps bring the focus in to the center where I display the featured book. This fills up any empty space in the photo and doesn't detract from the focus.


Highlight the cover with pops of color

Just a few examples of books as pops of color.


Add height/depth

Books under a phone or kindle can add height and therefore depth to a photo, or skinny books can be stacked on the side for the same thing.


Compliment the cover with photos/graphics

I have used books with photos or graphics to accent the cover. These are generally coffee table or antique books.


Use books as props to relate to the subject matter

  • Harry's Trees- This book features a very special book in the plot so I wrapped one with twine here

  • The Library- I paired 3 books in various ways

  • The Explorers Code- Letters and the book Treasure Island play a role in the plot


Add straight lines to balance out round ones

These books act as a balance to these cups and pies.


Infuse texture

Books can add texture which every great flat lay needs


Bonus: a book trick!

The interior of this book has parts redacted that I wanted to show, so I put the dust jacket on a different book so I could show the cover and the interior. And you never want an even number of something in a photo so I added a third book for balance and a pop of color!






Let me know if this helped, and be on the look out for more flat lay prop ideas!


Need more help with flat lays? Check out my other tutorials:




29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page